Fifty-two Books in 2009

I just tallied up all of the books I read in the last six months. Since this is the first time I tried to keep a book list, you can see that it is incomplete (in the About Me section).

To be perfectly honest, I’m surprised at how many I burned through in six weeks. Granted, about twenty of them were graphic novels that only took a couple hours to get through, but a few were really good sized books. Both of the David Weber ones were long (good though.) and Terry Pratchett doesn’t exactly write for kids with ADD (length-wise. His plots jump around quite a bit, actually.) And I only read three books in November and December due to the extra time I’ve spent writing my book.

If I had to pick favorites, I would say Small Gods by Terry Pratchett and The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers are both near the top. Lamb -The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal- by Christopher Moore holds its own with them both. So, it’s impossible to separate them out into ranks. Those three were the best of the year.

As for MY book, I have finished Part 1, which may be a stand alone novel or just the first half of the complete story, depending on what happens in the editing room (after finishing the rough draft, I came up with some great bits of story that I need to add in.). If I feel like it needs its own space, I’ll make it happen that way, otherwise, I might just end up with one long novel that breaks halfway through for the Intermission.

Leave a Reply

